The Exempt – Mirror Me/Fools

Release Date – 22nd September 2020

Words: Charlie Kempen

The Exempt are a Scottish band from Dundee, formed in 2018. Consisting of lead vocalist and guitarist Michael O’Rouke, drummer Andrew Balmer and bassist Sam Goodfellow. They released ‘Fools’ and ‘Mirror Me’ last week and have hit it off, reaching 1,000 streams on both tracks.

The lead vocalist, and guitarist, Michael O’Rouke adds shouty, loud, rocky vocals backed by heavy guitars and drums, which I can say are great to get your morning going. Out of the two my favourite has got to be ‘Mirror Me’ because it has got that classic sound to it that is reminiscent of Oasis and the Arctic Monkeys. This band has got great potential and could take Scottish rock to a new height.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: